Skip to content

MarzGurl in Japan 2010

February 13, 2010
MarzGurl in Japan 2010

Yeah, crappy Online photo editors suck.

Near the end of March, I’ll be traveling across Japan. This will be my third time in the country, but this time I’m bringing friends. During those couple of weeks, I MOST LIKELY won’t have any Anime News Editorials or other such videos to post (I may disappear for a little while). So, is there something or some place you’d like for me to see and discuss? The camera is totally coming with me, of course. I’ll be in Sapporo, Tokyo, Kyoto, and Osaka (and most likely some places in between).

Anyway, just letting you guys know what’s coming. And I want to produce something all of you will enjoy watching from this! The time for the trip grows short. I’ve missed Japan. I’m excited!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Cin Wicked permalink
    February 13, 2010 7:16 AM

    Ooo! I have requests!

    Kyoto: The Kyoto International Museum of Manga would be awesome.
    Osaka: I’d love to see the Sanko Shrine and a tour of the Osaka Castle gardens.
    Sapporo: Odd request but Hokkaido University would be neat to see.
    Tokyo: There are so many iconic locations, Tokyo Tower, the Tokyo Imperial Palace, Harujuku, Shinjuku.

    Darn, now I want to go back myself.

    I hope you have a great time Marzgurl!

  2. February 13, 2010 8:10 AM

    I’m so jealous! I’ve been wanting to see Japan for years and can’t even see daylight from the mountain of debt I’m buried under. 😦

    Get some pretty pictures of Ueno Park if you’re near there!

  3. February 13, 2010 8:44 AM

    Kyoto? Actually, yes… I’d very much be interested in seeing the modern Rajomon site, even if it is just a wooden sign and a marker. Similarly, the Fushimi Inari and Heian shrines might be worth a view, though whether or not they’d be open to any kind of filming, I’m a bit doubtful. In Osaka, the Sumiyoshi Taisha shrine could be interesting, and the Yasukuni in Tokyo.

  4. eAnstl permalink
    February 13, 2010 8:51 AM

    How about the Ghibli Museum? That would be something I’d like to see if I visit Japan.
    I hope I have the time and money to go there myself in the near future.

  5. kris permalink
    February 13, 2010 9:41 AM

    you should totally go back to club valfarre…. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
    (yes, i know it’s closed)

  6. Dinger permalink
    February 13, 2010 3:33 PM

    Always been a fan of some of the nice temples and castles around Kyoto

  7. Concerned permalink
    February 15, 2010 4:28 AM

    Hold on a sec. Something doesn’t quite fit well with me.

    A couple of posts ago you talked about how you were barely able to make rent every month and couldn’t afford to go to college. You resented the fact that you didn’t have a proper education due to bad decisions in your part andsettle for a crappy job to survive.

    And yet, somehow, you were able to afford a trip to Japan… for the third time.

    Honestly, you lack priority.

    You rather put your obsession towards a foreign culture above improving your own way of life. Regardless of how you were able to get the money for the trip, you could have used it to go to a state college and finish your degree. That is, of course, if it’s not coming out of your own pocket.

    You should spend your money and time however you wish. It’s your life, and you will face the consequences as such. I’m not telling you how to live, but don’t give us another sob story while being able to enjoy such luxuries. It’s not only unprofessional, but also hypocritical of you.

    • February 15, 2010 4:57 AM

      Hahaha, you don’t know how I ended up going to Japan, and it’s not really my place to say.

      • Aren permalink
        February 21, 2010 11:34 AM

        Honestly, Concerned has a point, regardless of how you are funding your trip to Japan.

        The fact remains that through your own passion for Japan/foreign culture, you have secured a means to facilitate your desires (in the case, going to Japan). Which I think is awesome, just as an aside.

        Imagine if you put the same kind of effort towards some of the other aspects of your life that you have mentioned before. You might be surprised at what kind of opportunities arise.

        Albeit, I do not know your circumstances, so I am just speculating.

        Like Concerned, its your life. However, I have found that source of people’s woes is often found in the disconnect between our actions and our words.

        I’ve learned that priorities are in what we DO not what we SAY.

        Examine what you have been doing vs. what you have been saying (and I mean in the life you do not share with other people). Is there a disconnect or do you feel you are “in sync” with yourself?

        You may find the burden on your shoulders lighten somewhat if you learn to harmonize the conflicting desires in your head, either by finding a balance or by abandoning or embracing non-comprising interests.

        Wishing you the best!

  8. February 16, 2010 4:58 AM

    Maybe she was in the mafia and was on an assignment to take out a rich Japanese business man, probably with a katana or poison blow gun.

    • February 16, 2010 5:43 AM

      Well, I’ll just say this…

      Anyone remember the TGWTG One Year Anniversary Brawl last year? I flew to Chicago for work. I didn’t cover that flight myself. And the flight most certainly didn’t come to me in the form of cash.

      That’s all. Too early to say more. When videos start getting released, there’ll probably be more info.

  9. February 17, 2010 1:25 PM

    Three trips! Way to go, Kaylyn. I did Kyoto for two weeks myself. Cost me 4 Grand and my job but it was worth it.

    So while you’re at it in Kyoto, do Fushimi Inari and stick around the Pontocho district to catch glimpses of the geisha doing their stoic shuffle from one appointment to the next. Kyomizudera also lends a spectacular view of the city from the east hills. In fact, all of East Kyoto is pretty damn scenic.

  10. taiki sato permalink
    February 17, 2010 11:27 PM

    dear marz gurl
    i know this coutry little bit and my image is like…….. monkey cell in the zoo with blueray player. cuz they dont play xbox but play playstation 3 a lot. and in arcade they still play half life 2 is it fossil right?

    anyway if you guys okay, i wanna be tour guide on trip for you guys, i just watched viva la bam and he took his parents for euro trip by treating his way, it kinda looks cool so i want to do like that.
    乞うご期待:)))
    yes hokkaido univercity is good idea, not only univercity around those area is kinda student town also good to feel japanese culture too i think. i wont show you on the guide map so just finish read those book before you come.

Leave a Reply

