Skip to content

It all started with “Hi!”

March 29, 2010

Yesterday morning, we all woke up and began walking toward the train station. And then, the best part of the day happened. A large group of school children walked past, and when they saw we were foreign, one of them yelled, “Hi!” So, we said back, “Hi!” And then the ENTIRE group of them all yelled “Hi!” back again, and they giggled when I said, “Good morning!” I wonder which one of us were more amused, them or us, because we were laughing really hard. You know, that technically wouldn’t work in another country, especially America. If you see someone of a different race walking down the street, you can’t just… you know… shout “hello” in another language. That’s probably considered racist. Maybe even racist here. And yet, I totally didn’t have a single problem with it. In fact, I found it totally cute and hilarious.

We got on our train and rode to Ikebukuro, where we went to Sunshine City, where we found Namja Town, which is where Ice Cream City is. We each tried a separate “delicious” flavor – Greg had chicken wing, Sean had orange sorbet, I had blueberry, Andrew had crab, and Jacob had both sakura and red bean paste ice cream. How were they? Well… I’m gonna save that for a video. 😛

We then went to Harajuku and walked toward Yoyogi park, where there were tons of sakura trees in bloom. Since it was a slightly gray day, there weren’t many people sitting, crowding, and watching at all, which was fine with me. But there were tons and tons of crows. Actually, that was pretty awesome, too. I love crows. And I love their laugh.

Then, we walked out of Yoyogi park and walked down to the Meiji Shrine. I purchased an omamori (special charm) as a gift, also purchased a prayer tablet to hang on their walls, and then made a prayer directly up at the shrine. Upon leaving, we were lucky enough to witness a wedding precession walking through the shrine grounds. The bride was gorgeous, in her traditional Japanese wedding dress. I felt kinda bad, like I didn’t belong there, though the entire group of shrine visitors stopped what they were doing to watch this wedding walk by.

We then went to Shinjuku, and I showed everyone where we went to school. I actually saw my old American representative, Tanaka-san! I walked up and said hi for a few minutes, and then left him to his work. We ate food at a local restaurant on the streets of Shinjuku, where I later found out you could add two more bowls of noodles for free, which was delicious.

Finally, we went to Shibuya at night, and witnessed the busiest intersection on Earth. Quite the sight to see, if you’ve never seen it. We walked up and down the famous Shibuya 109… but, meh, it’s not that great, ’cause it’s just a big mall with a bunch of womens’ clothing in it. Just something to be seen.

I wanted to go karaoke-ing, but by the time we had stopped back at our hostel, my feet were just in outrageous pain, and I found myself quickly losing consciousness. Before I knew it, I was already asleep, and there was no waking me up.

Well, that’s basically it for now. Will write more later. Today, I’m going to Fuji-Q Highland!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2010 4:57 PM

    Are you sure they weren’t saying “hai”? The kids could have been saying that.

    • March 30, 2010 3:11 PM

      Why would they do that? That’s “yes”. What would they have to “yes” at?

      Although, we did joke about that. Andrew said, “Hah, the joke’s on them! I was saying ‘hai’!”

  2. March 29, 2010 5:01 PM

    Dude, that is pretty cool. I’ve been keeping up with the trip, it sounds like blast….totally jealous. 🙂

  3. April 2, 2010 4:15 AM

    I was once read the hai could mean “I understand”. Forgot where. And in Hostel 1 a Japanese girl was calling the main character by saying “HAI!” (Or was really just “HI!”? But then again I don’t study Japanese. 😉

Leave a Reply

