Skip to content

Ow, my ankle!

April 3, 2010

Seems me and walking a whole bunch don’t get along too well. Every night, my feet have hurt pretty immensely. But yesterday I started to notice that my ankle had begun to swell. It didn’t really hurt much, so I let it go for a while.

We walked to tons of temples. Two in particular were of great interest – Sanjuusangendo, and Kiyomizudera. Sanjuusangendo is a Buddhist temple, housing the only remaining full collection of 28 guardian spirits, as well as 1,000 kannon. Even if you aren’t Buddhist, you’ll feel the power behind their beliefs just by stepping inside. No pictures were allowed in there. And understandably so. Flash from photos could age those statues significantly. I’d imagine that’s part of the reason why they don’t open the main doors there, either.

Kiyomizudera was also quite beautiful. Instead of taking the walk up the tourist-trap lane, we took a side lane, which took us through a massive grave yard, where we heard some visitors singing to a grave stone in prayer. The sight left me in awe, and I nearly cried. I knew at that point that I had to continue on up. And once I did, I found a temple covered in sakura blossoms, with a group of Taiko drum performers playing and adding to the atmosphere. Absolutely awesome.

The whole trek did a number on my ankle. We were going to walk around an see more things, but my ankle had continued to swell and ache. We stopped by a pharmacy, where we purchased heating thingies to wrap around my foot, and put my foot in a support sock. I stayed inside for several hours, and then we went out again. We found an arcade, most games being only 50 yen instead of your typical 100.

And really… that was about it. Lots of temples, and lots of foot-aching, mostly.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lesley permalink
    May 25, 2010 4:59 PM

    Kiyomizudera is a really beautiful place. My mom and I DID walk up Tourist-Trap Lane, and it was really funny. Lots of cheap junk.

    I wish I had gotten to see Sanjusangendo though… But I only had one day in Kyoto. Got to see the Miyako Odori though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

