Skip to content

Again, the Internet fails at comprehension skills.

May 8, 2010
/co/ thinks I'm an idiot, of course, to be expected.

Typical of 4chan, of course.

Okay. Here I go, feeding the trolls in the flames. Usually, I let things pass. But I just… okay, I just don’t get it.

Some of you may remember my Anime News Editorial about Nick Simmons, when he was accused of plagiarism from sources such as Tite Kubo’s ever-so-famous Bleach manga. Somehow, in some MAGICAL sort of a way, people seem to believe that I am not critical of Simmons’ near line-for-line recreation of panels straight out of Kubo’s manga.

I am baffled. Utterly baffled.

The TITLE of THAT VERY VIDEO was “Plagiarism in Anime”. Was the title, along with the image on my title card, not enough to get across my stance on the subject?

(btw, shadowcross is AWESOME and you should totally go look at his work.)

I don’t get it. I state at first something along the lines of, “At first I thought it may have been coincidence, but continuing to look at the images it became obvious that this was no coincidence.” Suddenly, I TOTALLY BELIEVE THAT SIMMONS DID NOT IN SOME WAY COPY KUBO’S ARTWORK!

What? Excuse me? Where is your comprehension skill, Internet? Okay, seriously, anime and manga art styles aren’t original or creative. Don’t you dare tell me that you haven’t ever seen two anime or manga images that look strikingly similar to one another.

All moe looks the same

Seriously, all moe looks exactly the same to me.

I sit there and I wax about how fan art is technically illegal, and that selling fan art is DEFINITELY illegal, and that Simmons falls into this category. How can you not understand that I do not approve of what Nick drew?

Oh, wait, I think I figured it out!

Not only 4chan hates me.
That’s it! It’s because I didn’t specifically say, “Nick Simmons is a plagiarist”! Why didn’t I think of that earlier!?

I mean, look people, Nick isn’t being legally attacked. Despite the fact that my ANE’s are opinion-based, I do have certain morals that, as a person, I will not cross. And since no United States court of law has labeled Nick Simmons as a plagiarist, I have chosen not wrongfully state that Nick Simmons is a plagiarist. So people totally, liek, h8 me for that, c’ha, o mah gawd. Okay, you want to hear something like that from me? Fine –

It is within my own personal opinion, and through no truly legal or journalistic standpoint at all whatsoever, that Nick Simmons blatantly copied images from Tite Kubo’s famous Bleach manga.

No, Mr. Darryl Reeves, a.k.a Mr. bostonboy67 who has only ever made tweets in response to me on this subject and is only following the New York Jets.  It’s football otaku like YOU who don’t have the brain enough to figure out that I was in no way supportive of Mr. Simmons’ artistic decisions.  I can’t imagine being much more obvious.  If the bolded sentence above was what everyone wanted, congratulations, you got your wish.  The fact that you needed it to begin with completely baffles and astounds me, and it makes me ashamed that shallow assumptive people such as yourself exist.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2010 3:33 PM

    Wow. Extra points to people who are stupid AND assholes.

    I sometimes wish the internet would make Wheaton’s Law mandatory.

  2. Deemah permalink
    May 8, 2010 4:08 PM

    Ok, so people can not actually bother to watch videos and be ass holes to you for no reason. I want to yell at who ever posted these dumb ass posts but I’ll stay calm. At least now I know why I don’t go on 4chan or 7chan or any other place that people can be dumb and…. AAAAAAAAAAAAAAA. Ok I won’t rant, just know that your fans support you Marz.

  3. JackPowerX permalink
    May 8, 2010 4:09 PM

    Oh, haven’t you heard? People don’t think for themselves any more. In the era of sound-bite news and talking heads, critical thinking has become obsolete just like the Walkman, VCR and green, leafy vegetables.

    That someone would take the time and energy to attack you this long and hard to keep himself from thinking is just… I want to say “sad”, but the word that comes to mind is “typical”. And that’s even more sad.

  4. May 8, 2010 4:11 PM

    [blinks] Wow. Just… how stupid can people get?

  5. May 8, 2010 4:22 PM

    Eh, that’s the internet for you. It’s crawling with idiots that can’t read a goddamn sentence, let alone get the difference between “they’re/their/there” much less “your/you’re”.

    The natural assumption is that if you didn’t blatantly speak against it, you MUST be for it.

    As much as I’d like to believe Idiocracy is just a movie and wouldn’t happen, it’s shit like this that makes me wonder how many other gorillas are this retarded that they need to have the words thrown in their face instead of getting the whole picture.

    “Durrr… remembering stuff and looking at the whole picture hurts my head. When do I get candee mommee? Yay, I get a star sticker!”

    Forget Wheaton’s Law, what about something that encourages hearsay to be looked DOWN upon on the internet? The same internet where Rumor = Truth (depending on how pleasing it sounds, especially on the side of gaming) and where being a lying dishonest douche is okay as long as the person you’re targeting isn’t well liked themselves (okay, that might call for Wheaton’s Law).

    All the same though, be ready to deal with people that will twist your words and/or make you into a straw man simply because they don’t like aspects about you. Seeing how you did defend dubs and wag your finger on anime piracy, it wouldn’t surprise me that you’d get naysayers blinded by spiteful disagreement taking it THIS far.

  6. MalditodelNorte permalink
    May 8, 2010 6:02 PM

    I went back and saw the video and followed your twitter regarding this matter. I must say that I see the problem here.

    The way you worded yourself on the ANE made it look like you were at least giving him the benefit of the doubt and weren’t really clear on your opinion. The message gets lost eventually.

    I may be playing devil’s advocate here, but hopefully you can take my, and everyone else’s , opinion with a grain of salt.

  7. ThatDouche permalink
    May 8, 2010 6:52 PM

    Everytime I hear about these [insert long swear word here]-ing trolls I feel like going to them and saying “maybe your the one who should be called ‘That Douche’. Don’t worry Kaylyn, all your fans still support you. Forget these stupid trolls. they’re just jealous of that awesomeness that is you and your work.

  8. Kari Dru permalink
    May 10, 2010 2:53 AM

    This was actually the first video of yours that I watched. I thought it was fairly done, and remarkably, um, rant-free for the internet, which is why I then watched all your videos. I thought it showed character that you didn’t just verbally hang the man, but presented the facts and expressed a shadow of an opinion, leaving it at that.

    I thought it worked. I thought your stance was clear, despite the fact that you were trying to be polite. I just think that increasingly, people don’t deal well in subtlety. Don’t let their problems change what you do.

  9. May 13, 2010 7:04 PM

    I swear when most people get on the internet their intelligence falls by 80%. It’s like some kind of switch.

    But try not to think too much about this. No matter how much you defend yourself or point out the obvious, the trolls/braindeads out there aren’t going to be convinced. They saw the video, formed their warped opinion, and will now stand by that no matter how much proof you shove down their throats. I mean…c’mon, you had ‘plagiarism’ in the freaking title of the video. What more do they want?!

  10. May 14, 2010 4:06 PM

    I understand what you where trying to do, MarzGurl. You didn’t want to sound like an overbearing ass that thought Simmons was nothing but an evil thief, and I respect that, but your presentation could have been better.

    Also, I wanted to point out that bostonboy67 is just a troll, or extremely stupid, either way, he/she/it is not worth your time.

    All you can do now is try to improve your videos. It would be a good move to take a stronger stance though.

  11. June 4, 2010 7:23 AM

    click me to watch bleach move free…

  12. Greg Dean permalink
    August 19, 2010 11:17 PM

    I’m late to the party, but I just wanted to add my voice of reason to the other voices of reason. I’m bored of MG being unfairly attacked over nothing, and I’m sure she is too.

    Forget those guys, MS Gurl – or may I call you Marz? – their comments are stupid and they should feel stupid.

Leave a Reply

