Skip to content

Anime News Editorial – Manga on iPad

June 9, 2010

[blip.tv ?posts_id=3754342&dest=57459]

Wouldn’t it be great to have all the manga you ever wanted all in one place? ; Yeah, too bad that’ll cost you $500.
10 Comments leave one →
  1. asdasd permalink
    June 9, 2010 5:04 PM

    I know plenty of people who have bought well over 500$ worth of manga, it’s a good buy for the avid fan. Most people that go to anime cons spend about that much total on one con, just don’t go to a con, save up a bit extra and you’ll have something that’ll bring you all the manga you want, and more.

  2. June 9, 2010 5:11 PM

    Maybe if they sold digital copies of mangas an comics in digital form, but FOR COMPUTERS, that would make it easier and make everybody happy, but seriously, what’s the point of getting an Ipad just for that? That’s just ridiculous, but I guess as long as they earn more money of it, there will be more and more comics coming only for digital devices u.u (i.e. Ipad, kindle, etc..)

    btw, whatever happened to the video player? I can’t see any controls and the video freezes a lot, maybe it’s just my computer

  3. MalditodelNorte permalink
    June 9, 2010 5:40 PM

    The whole problem is that if you buy the book in printed form, you’d probably be the only one buying it (in the area, at least). While it’s true that mainstream manga’s popularity is dropping while more arthouse/indy manga is rising, titles such as My Darling is a Foreigner are still too much of a financial risk to put in print. If they try to sell it digitally for computers, it’s just a one way ticket to bit torrent. The Ipad is not just safe, but also cost effective.

  4. June 10, 2010 12:00 AM

    Surely there are plenty of good reasons in moving towards a more digital age. I think it’s slightly frustrating that so little classrooms use technology when we’re very much living in a digital/visual age. Perhaps since there’s a push to head towards more advance technology, the iPad isn’t such a bad idea for certain uses. Also, we’re probably going to head towards an age when the printed form isn’t going to be used as frequently. So many magazines and newspapers have already taken themselves out of business due to everything being on the Internet. It may be slightly inevitable to believe that one day, all of us will have a device like the iPad because as consumers, we want to be able to obtain more things at a faster rate.

    I will say though, it does get frustrating to see my own large bookshelf filled top to bottom with graphic novels, manga, and fiction, and realizing that I could have all of those books on an iPad/Kindle. It’s a bit like buying DVD for years and then coming across something like Netflix, or having VHS tapes and realizing you could get your tapes on DVD not only with better quality, but extras as well.

    I personally say a $500 investment into an iPad is worth it, not only for reading manga and comics but you’ll definitely find other uses for it in years to come. But of course, there are a lot of other options open to getting manga that doesn’t cost at all near $500, so perhaps take advantage of this while possible.

  5. Kari Dru permalink
    June 10, 2010 12:16 AM

    Maybe it’ll be worth it when the whole thing doesn’t smell like an 8 track to me. I’m sure that a device LIKE these is going to become a permanent part of our material culture, but which one? And why should I blow money on it before we know?

  6. June 10, 2010 7:44 PM

    But we don’t know when the iPad will stop being an 8 track. We didn’t know when music CDs would be replaced by mp3s. It sure as hell did seem like it when Napster/Ares came out, but CDs were still being sold during that time as some are still now being sold and bought as well. You could say the 8 track has been abolished, but it usually takes a very, very long time for something to be completely wiped out. We just don’t know what device will be a permanent part of our culture since there usually isn’t one and regards, you’ll probably be spending your money on something else before you know it’s in the “final” stage of development. We’ll always have and want upgrades.

    • Kari Dru permalink
      June 10, 2010 10:56 PM

      In reply to LN:
      CDs will not be entirely replaced until they offer us an actual SUPERIOR product.

      I get your point- stuff is replaced. Technology marches on. Some stuff hangs on forever, as you say: I still listen to records and have a wind-up pocket watch. I’m not in favor of stepping on that progress, but a lot of stuff that LOOKS like it’s going to be the next big thing just isn’t.

      In my lifetime I have seen come and go way too fast to make buying them a good idea: Computers that use TAPES (OK so I had one of those), Beta, Laserdiscs, those tape thingies the size of my thumb, yes I remember 8 tracks, barely (and my family had those, too); and I just know everybody with extensive movie collections for their PSP’s are going to be very sorry very soon. I know there’s a bunch of stuff I’m not thinking of just at the moment. A lot of this stuff appears, shines for a minute, and disappears forever except in period comedy sketches. These readers have that look about them. Something like them is here to stay, of that I’m sure, but the early versions may be tomorrow’s nostalgia fodder. Hey, my first computer was made by Texas Instruments. I’m a little gunshy.

  7. June 10, 2010 11:43 PM

    Computers that use tapes?? Good lord, all I remember was dos haha. But I do get your point and yeah, I agree that things don’t get replaced until there is a superior product. I think this is when it really depends on the consumers and for how long there is demand for the product. I totally understand flops as well.

    I’m very much understand your relationship with electronics since I feel the same way too. I’m very careful with what electronic devices I buy. My previous cellphone was used for a good eight years, and I’m still using a very basic cell phone. No fancy flip to the side, texting nonsense. My policy is: electronics are made for you to work them to death. If it still works, it’s good. I don’t think people who buy PSPs or a Nintendo DS will feel too badly once upgrades come out, because they’ve probably been brainwashed to think electronics are very easily disposed and they will be so much happier with the new thing. This is very much a marketing/advertising strategy in my opinion. Japan’s really pissed off at its own people for buying the iPad and not their own product.

    My Texas Instruments calculator from high school still works like a charm. 🙂

    • Kari Dru permalink
      June 11, 2010 8:09 AM

      My Texas Instruments computer worked for eight years that I know of- then we sold it. I’ve got the same theory on electronics. If It’s not broke I don’t need a new one.

      Which is another issue I have with ithings. It seems like they’re all so fragile. I have no idea how the kindle stacks up against them that way, but I have seen more shattered screens on iphones than have any right to happen. So, I might also be biased against this whole thing because I have books that have been around for hundreds of years and they work fine!

  8. June 11, 2010 9:21 AM

    Very true about the fragile state of most better and expensive electronics. Some people may also need to invest in pepper spray or a taser since you have people just snatching iPhones right out of pedestrian hands on the street.

    I’m not a “busy” enough person to want to buy that kind of electronics, and I agree with Marzgurl, that spending $500 just to read manga and comics isn’t worth that price. But I also do believe that those who are willing to invest in expensive electronics usually get what it’s worth, but it really depends on the consumer with their personal policy in electronic use: Buy the next upgrade or use it until it’s broken?

Leave a Reply

