Skip to content

Forums Fixed (Plus Current Projects)

July 17, 2010

Actually, to be honest with you, this isn’t really news. On that same day the forums went down, they went back up again. Unfortunately, it came at the price of not having this blog actually sit at MarzGurlProductions.com. So, for now, MarzGurlProductions.com just redirects here still. I’ll have it figured out. But I want to do it on my own, so I know how to do it, and I don’t want anyone else to really do it for me.

Recorded another episode of B!tchcast last night with Marc and Xero. It’s pretty much one of the most offensive things ever. Which means you should definitely listen to it when it hits the ‘net. You know I’ll link you guys later.

Past that, I BELIEVE I’m making an appearance at three different conventions in January; I’m already a guest at Epikon, I’m highly considering attending Ikkicon (though I wouldn’t be a guest), as well as MAGFest (though I’m not gonna be a guest there, either). If you’re attending any of those events next January, be sure and find me at some point. We’ll chew the fat for a while.


I’ve been working on translating a Baka and Test light novel (the first one, actually). It’s really just a busy-work chore, and is practice for other stuff I might be interested in doing in the future. A real pro could have this bad boy translated easily in a week. But I’m not that good. I just really want the practice, and I wanted it to be with something really challenging, something that could make me learn while working on it, and something that I couldn’t find already existing with a fan translation. The personal project could likely take forever and a day for me to complete, but I really want to try. Actually, I was going to attempt to work on it while I’m here at my “real” job this morning, but I think I may have left the novel at home on my desk. It’s actually the reason why I’m writing this blog at all rather than doing that. I don’t believe I’ll be making the translation available once I’m done with it. I personally believe that it would qualify as illegal distribution. But I’ll look around and check what my rights are. Then I’ll get back to you guys.

Also, I wanted to thank everyone who had submitted donations thus far. It really isn’t something you needed to do, but it has most definitely helped me immensely. You see, as I’ve told everyone who’s donated already, I’m in this odd transition where I’m trying to break free from my “real” job and make my Channel Awesome job my full-time gig. I actually think I can do it, and actually, financially, I COULD probably quit right now. At least, I could pay rent and bills. But then what? I couldn’t really do anything else. I wouldn’t be able to leave my house or anything. And I wouldn’t have the security of knowing that I have a little cash to fall back on in case something drastic happens somewhere in my life. So, those donations have put me in a pretty secure place, if for some reason I either choose to quit or I otherwise lose my job any time in the near future.

Oh, which reminds me, earlier this year, I had received a donation that was specifically for helping out with my earlier trip to Japan and getting a video produced. I’ve felt rather guilty that those videos have yet to be completed. I was recently motivated to work hard on my projects, and I picked up my footage from Japan. And I had a stroke of genius. I started working on this video yesterday, and I really think the first video to come from it is going to be really special. Like, maybe it’s just me and my memories and my adoration of Japan as a country, but just during the editing process alone, I’ve felt like crying. I so badly want to see my own finished product! Hearing the music I’ve set with it and looking over everything I filmed, I know I’ll have all kinds of emotions running over me by the time it’s finished. So, I wanted to tell everyone that this project is very important to me, despite the fact that it took so long to execute. And I want to apologize for the delay, since people were investing in me and expecting things from me. I feel like I may have let some people down, or brought their hopes up only to give them nothing in return. I don’t want that to be the case. What you’ll receive will be something very special. In fact, there’s going to be at least two Japan videos. I filmed so much I could probably make a DVD out of it. Heh, but I probably won’t.

Anyway, there’s lots of work to be done, especially if I’m to get out of this horrendous job. I’ll write more when I can, to update you on that progress and the progress of the newest projects. Take care, all!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 3llense'g permalink
    July 17, 2010 8:03 AM

    So, what’s up with b!tchcast? I can’t access the site on any of it’s various adresses.

  2. [the Engineer] permalink
    July 17, 2010 9:25 AM

    B!tchcast has been re-branded as “RezDown’D”. Though the site it’s on isn’t launched yet, the episode will be available for download today.

  3. July 18, 2010 6:28 PM

    You have most of (if not all) of the tool to go full time at Channel Awesome. You should go for it!

    As for Magfest, I have never gone there but I have friends who did. Hopefully I can attend that event for a change.

  4. July 19, 2010 8:28 PM

    I’m sorry to hear that your job can be filed under “horrendous.” I was under the impression that it was at least bearable.

    I sense you’re a perfectionist, so this might seem impossible at this point, but maybe you should look into becoming a translator if your novel goes well.

  5. July 19, 2010 10:26 PM

    Speaking of hanging out at cons, I actually met you, but didn’t really say anything! lol. You were the first TGWTG team member I had encountered face to face, so I ended up all nervous.

    I was at SGC. I was your vendor room volunteer partner! XD

  6. July 24, 2010 2:23 PM

    Where is the RezDown’D episode?

Leave a Reply

