Skip to content

Anime News Editorial – One Manga, Too

July 28, 2010

[blip.tv ?posts_id=3958232&dest=57459]

Okay. ; Can we stop talking about manga sites closing down now?
19 Comments leave one →
  1. yamiangie permalink
    July 28, 2010 7:08 PM

    You know what. I’m also very tired of this argument and how this is such a sad thing. I respect these companies rights do to this even if means. I don’t even pay attention to stories like this after reading them once. It does bug me that they didn’t just totally take the site down. It’s been almost a week since they announced the darn thing and people are still putting up manga on there.

  2. Deemah permalink
    July 28, 2010 7:12 PM

    Truthfully I was hoping for something not talking about one Manga, but I knew people were going to want you to talk about it. All I can say is what ever, One Manga is gone and I’m not going to loose any sleep. But truthfully I think you should have said, One Manga is shutting down… BYE!!! And then Fly me to the moon would have played…. Yeah I over thought this comment

  3. rgoro permalink
    July 28, 2010 7:23 PM

    That was probably your best editorial to date. informative, opinionated and fun. Keep it up, blue goddess

    • rgoro permalink
      July 28, 2010 7:24 PM

      I’m sorry, I meant blue *haired* goddess.

    • yamiangie permalink
      July 28, 2010 8:55 PM

      yeah he’s right this one was felt good. you didn’t seem any of those things you noted as being criticized about in this one.

  4. Deemah permalink
    July 28, 2010 7:25 PM

    Yes I know I spelled lose wrong .

  5. July 28, 2010 7:34 PM

    As someone who has used One Manga I was a little disappointed when I first saw the notice on the site. But you are of course spot on that the site hosted illegal content and that the repercussions from doing that is in no way news.

    Thanks for voicing your opinion on the matter and keep up the great work.

  6. July 28, 2010 8:38 PM

    Honestly, it was inevitable. They were making so much money off of ads hosting illegal material. Some of the series they hosted were from scanlation groups that didn’t even want OneManga to host them. And now they’re paying the price.

    I say that nothing of value was lost. Scanlators would rather people go to their sites or irc channels instead of places like Onemanga anyway.

  7. July 28, 2010 10:34 PM

    You know, I really like it when you don’t just tell us what’s going on, but you tell us more of what you think about it. I know you’ll catch hell, but whatever. You’ve still got a decently solid group of people who like you, and the more people disagree with you, the more they’ll watch your vids to hate on you, so it’s a win-win.

    Fair use is a berzerk button with me. It drives me nuts when, for instance, people post things on youtube that they don’t own, but then say that they can do this because of fair use. No, you can’t. You can do it maybe, because the original owners of the material don’t care for one reason or another- like “hey, free publicity!” THAT’S IT. I actually try to keep up on artistic legislation, because, well, you SHOULD if you do anything creative. It’s just really nice to see people try to spread the word about what it actually means.

  8. Getsuga Tensho permalink
    July 29, 2010 8:32 AM

    I’ve noticed that some of you are saying that One Manga is finally paying the price and was just an illegal site. Well for one, One Manga made the decision themselves for the reason that the companies decided that they didn’t like the idea of Scanlation sites being around.

    Another thing is, it provided so many people with access to Manga with if it hadn’t been translated and put up there, most people wouldn’t have been able to enjoy it. It also allowed people to enjoy manga where it wasn’t released in their region.

    I think it’s sad that the site is closing down after all this time. Was a really good site. At least there will still be a few less known sites sticking around, the onemanga forums will still exist and the scanlation groups plan on continuing their work.

    Apart from that, I think everyone can cope with this. Just a shame that so many good sites in general(not manga related) are going down these days.

  9. timusforlife permalink
    July 29, 2010 11:17 PM

    I think a video should be made about Peter Fernandez and his passing. He was such a huge industry influence.

  10. July 29, 2010 11:37 PM

    “That I’m ugly, that I have a grating voice, that I have no camera presence……wait.”

    I must admit, that one got a laugh out of me.

    And this actually doesn’t affect me personally, so my only opinion on it is “It’s illegal, plain and simple.” I prefer having a physical copy of the manga I’m reading so I always go out and buy them.

  11. July 30, 2010 9:08 AM

    So if you had an editorial when OneMoney shut down, does that mean that when MoneyStream and MoneyFox shut down, you can just dub in yourself reading their announcement, and then their name instead of OneMoney, and you’ll have your editorial in the can?

  12. Elita5 permalink
    July 30, 2010 6:00 PM

    Who’s the guy next to you in the title card?

  13. Xsdob permalink
    July 30, 2010 7:04 PM

    There’s nothing to celebrate here, now that scanlation site’s are being forced to take down there manga, The “offical” distribution companies like Viz are going to go right back to taking there sweet time getting their manga onto the shelves.

    The only reason I ever read scanlaions was because they were so much more up to speed on translation than the actual distributer. I remember reading the latest naruto book out, where sauske leaves the village to join orochimaru, and then finding out that on one manga, they were already getting into shippuden territory with sakura beating sasori.

    The point is that because these big companies now have a monopoly on the manga reading community again, all their products are probably going to go less the route of naruto and one piece, with the mangas getting onto the book shelves faster, and more along the line of bleach, where they take as much time as possible to translate and publish the books, just because they can.

    After all, it wasn’t because of the manga’s being free that I read them, it was availability and a dependable update schedule that had me sold. And if it takes Viz 6 years to get up to volume 24 of bleach, when there are already over 40 volumes released in japan, than that’s really not a system I would have much faith in.

    • July 30, 2010 11:34 PM

      The scanlation sites are not being taken down, just the aggregators. You weren’t under the impression that OneManga actually makes the scanlations, were you?

  14. Syn permalink
    July 30, 2010 7:15 PM

    Hajime No Ippo has never fully be released in english or anywhere in Japan….so now I have no reason to read manga 😡 ever.

    My opinion would be if they’re “Releasing” Said scanlations, FOR FREE, without any mention of payment in any sense of the word, then there should be no problem. “It hurts the industry”. Well tell the fuckin industry to release me a full fledged box set of Hajime No Friggin Ippo in English D:< I'll pay whatever they ask for it! And keep constant updates on it.

    Onemanga was my only source for it T_T my whole life is now a lost cause.

    BWAH. (BTW I take no sides, screw scanlations for sucking and screw the industry for making scanlators stop without replacing the material they provided me with, assholes.)

    • July 30, 2010 11:36 PM

      Its not like they are DOING IT for free, its just that they are not charging the readers … they are selling your attention to the manga to advertisers to make a profit for the site.

  15. Zurui permalink
    August 6, 2010 3:36 AM

    There are alot of great comments people are making i.e. what Syn said, if the companies did bring out the paperbacks of the manga I’m reading I’ll be happy to buy it but it sadly comes down to popularity of the manga itself. If the manga is not mega popular it won’t come out unless a publisher is a fan of it or takes a chance on it and then if sales are bad they won’t publish the manga till the end, then HOW WILL THE FAN WHO IS READING IT READ THE ENDING?!
    Scanlations are not bad for people outside of Japan since manga is mostly aimed at Japanese audience and if we read it for free we are not taking money from the mangakas wage, he is employed so he doesn’t lose money if people outside of his country read his work because he has a salary!
    Yes it’s not legal to do scanlations but years ago when you couldn’t get a film in your country you got bootleg videos of the film not because you wanted to watch it for free but because you actually wanted to watch it! Scanlations are done by fans, not people wanting to steal or make money, they want to share the love of manga which all it comes down to at the end of the day.
    OneManga did a great job spreading the word of manga and thanks to them and the scanlators who put the work on their site I was able to read alot of great work still to this day is not out in shops! So MarzGirl making fun of the letter they posted on their site to their fans was really beneath you and myself and other viewers thought it was really bitchy, we thought you were better than that.

Leave a Reply

