Skip to content

Anime News Editorial – Investigation: Latin America

August 4, 2010

[blip.tv ?posts_id=3986035&dest=57459]

On special request, MarzGurl goes International to discuss the status of a Latin American anime TV station.
8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2010 6:08 PM

    I remember Animax was used to be called Locomotion, I looooooved that channel when I used to go to mexico, it was a true Animation channel that not just aired Anime but american animations as well, it also featured shot animated clips. It was a network that if I had my own network, thats how I would do it. I’m sad that they completely went off the boat and just made into a sad thing that it is now.

  2. Lord Tirion permalink
    August 4, 2010 11:02 PM

    Actually, that happened too to Boomerang, that now it doesn’t show a single animated show (or at least I haven’t seen one there) but there is now Tooncast that is technically the same that Boomerang in the rest of the world.

    I don’t see the point of taking a niche market channel to another country only to changing it in another generic channel. It’s like managing that your rookie team gets into the only to fire all your current team to hire already established professionals

  3. Lord Tirion permalink
    August 4, 2010 11:05 PM

    **sorry for the double post, I forgot that the inequality sings are used in html and didn’t show the whole comment

    It’s like managing that your (insert your favorite sport here) rookie team gets into (insert your favorite sport equivalent of major leagues here) the only to fire all your current team to hire already established professionals

  4. Interfear1 permalink
    August 5, 2010 1:04 AM

    avatar

    WOW! I was really surprised when I saw the tittle of this episode and the fact that you spoke about Animax which is a channel a lot of people have told me about mostly because of the programming that is not remotely related to anime. As a Latin American (Dominican) I’m glad to see that you took the approach of speaking about a latino subject. As you can see, your audience is international and multilingual. English is the second language you are taught in school and the Internet helps to learn as well.

    Now that I think about it, Marzgurl, you should talk about manga publications in other countries and which languages are some mangas translated to. I’m sure you’ll do great!

  5. WolfCryer permalink
    August 5, 2010 2:53 AM

    Well at least they have an animation channel… here in Belgium, we have squat. Yeah we do have Nickelodeon, Cartoon network n stuff, but like you said, it’s not like they broadcast a lot of animation any more, let alone anime. The only anime I remember seeing is on some of our regular channels, but then it’s oc Pokemon, Bakugan and all those kid shows. I think Deathnote was the only “mature” show I remember ever glancing over while zapping and of course it was shown on ungodly hours. I don’t even think it was a regular broadcasting, cause I tried to tivo it and it shuffled between eps…

  6. August 5, 2010 10:05 AM

    I thought this was a wonderful ANE. I think you did a great job with the information that you had and while you did help give a voice to the Latin American anime fans’ troubles, you also opened the eyes of people in other regions.
    I miss old school Cartoon Network and I am worried about the future of animated shows. What happened to kids liking cartoons? I don’t even understand how this happened or where this started. Are people really not into animated shows anymore?
    I have to say, though, that “Gringomax” made me crack up. Just sayin’.

  7. *name here* permalink
    August 5, 2010 5:02 PM

    well at least Nickelodeon has Nicktoons witch has ones show that isn’t animation(and possibly power rangers in the future according to Wikipedia)but CARTOON network has no excuse

  8. August 5, 2010 8:41 PM

    I hope that when reader fansub this editorial into spanish, they remember that MarzGurl’s hair is blue, so her subtitle font should also be blue.

Leave a Reply

