Skip to content

Anime News Editorial – Anti-Otaku Law

December 22, 2010

[blip.tv ?posts_id=4566612&dest=57459]

Could Japanese animation, comics, and video games be changing forever?
7 Comments leave one →
  1. KarmaKamikaze permalink
    December 23, 2010 3:45 AM

    Sorry this isn’t related to the video, but any chance you could get bigger videos? They seem very… small on my screen. Like. 400×600 or something. if that

    • December 23, 2010 6:01 PM

      There is a button on the player that will bring it up fullscreen.

      • KarmaKamikaze permalink
        December 24, 2010 5:58 PM

        Except I would still like to multitask while watching it. I don’t want it fullscreen, I just don’t want it tiny.

        nitpicky, maybe

  2. Mish permalink
    December 23, 2010 9:20 AM

    I don’t know.. I think it’s horrible to restrict an artist like that and the logic behind it is silly… but I don’t watch anime or read manga for sex. This bill doesn’t seem to affect violence.. so really I’m not sure I’m going to care. Sometimes limitations even force artists to be more creative and come up with better stuff.

  3. Casandraelf permalink
    December 23, 2010 7:59 PM

    this really, really pisses me off. someone get that senile old coot outta there!

  4. January 3, 2011 1:15 AM

    I actually see a lot of striking similarities between this law and the law proposed by the PMRC against obscene albums 25 years ago (this law was responsible for the creation of that hideous “Parental Advisory” label). It was signed into law by Ronald Reagan on December 14, 1985, just one day apart from the passing of the anti-otaku law. This law also came into effect on July 1, 1986. The PMRC hoped that this law would keep record stores from selling obscene albums to kids. Guess what: it backfired. The law was so vague and broad, no one ever bothered to enforce it. Not only that, but the government-mandated Parental Advisory sticker actually doubled the sales of all the obscene albums on which it was placed. Finally, there was the simple fact that even with these restrictions, children would still find a way to get their hands on obscene albums. If history truly does repeat itself, then I believe this anti-otaku law will meet the same fate.

  5. Emily permalink
    January 23, 2011 1:09 PM

    I think I just died a little on the inside. Admittedly, I don’t watch a lot of anime these days, but those few laws pretty much destroy everything that is anime. I’m gonna be sick.
    Still, thanks so much to Marzgurl for posting this.

Leave a Reply

