Skip to content

Birthday Memories: I Want to Be Your Canary

January 27, 2011

It’s true. Today’s my birthday. And I have enough birthday memories to last a good long while. But here’s a couple that might make sense to a few of you readers out there.

Everything about Final Fantasy IX as a game speaks directly to me as a fan of the game (and of what the series had stood for for so long). I received this game on my 16th birthday (I’d wanted it for some time by then). Go figure, the leading princess in the game was turning 16 right at the beginning of the game as well. Quite the coincidence! Not to mention, the princess’ name was Garnet. Hey, I’m a January baby, and that’s my birthstone! I feel tied to this game already! So, at the beginning of the game, there’s a fictional play the characters are performing to celebrate Garnet’s birthday entitled “I Want to Be Your Canary”. Ever since playing and beating FFIX I’d always wanted to see a full re-enactment of this performance.

I think I must have beaten FFIX in about a week, I loved it so much. Maybe it was a month at most, I don’t know, I was still in high school. But over the course of the game, I’d just adored it to pieces. And finally, at the end of the game was yet one last re-enactment of “I Want to Be Your Canary”. And the ending to the play, to the game, to everything, was one of the few games I can say I’d cried at the end at that time in my gaming life. It was a great ending, and I was so sad to see it end. It meant I wasn’t going to be spending any time with it anymore, and I’d really gotten attached.

So, one of my fondest gaming memories came from that personal attachment. And so on my birthday, I always watch some of the scenes from “I Want to Be Your Canary”.

Another slightly lesser memory comes from Blue Dragon. It wasn’t the greatest RPG ever, but I enjoyed it just the same, especially because it came from my favorite game developers who’d worked on my favorite games in the past (Including Hironobu Sakaguchi and Nobuo Uematsu who directly worked on FFIX, and both have stated that FFIX was their favorite in the series to work on). Naturally, I played Blue Dragon to the fullest. At the end of the game, the leading female character, Kluke, is celebrating her birthday, and a birthday song is playing, written by Uematsu. It’s kind of cute, really. There were two other people with me that day I beat the game, and the three of us went to conventions cosplaying as Kluke, Shuu, and Jiro.

It wasn’t long after I’d beaten the game that I went to study in Japan by myself. It was kind of a lonely time. Especially when I was having my birthday out there, and I wasn’t anywhere near any of my old friends. But that’s when I was messaged from home and told to listen to this song, straight from the ending of Blue Dragon.

Greg actually managed to already remember this year and linked me to it at midnight. Heh, good memories!

So, that’s that. Those are some gaming-related birthday memories of mine that may be relevant to some of your interests. I’ve already had a ton of well-wishes, and it’s all I could hope for. Thank you, everyone!

Now, if you’ll excuse me, there’s some awesome food, cake, and Robocop I need to go participate in.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2011 12:44 AM

    Happy Birthday! Hope it’s awesome for you!

    ~Solid Jake

  2. Nathan Jarmusch permalink
    January 27, 2011 12:55 AM

    You know, for some reason, no one else I know (or at least, know of) has such fond memories of FFIX. I love that game; nice to know someone else did.

    Happy birthday! Here’s to another enjoyable year, hopefully better than the last! 😀

  3. Armads permalink
    January 27, 2011 12:56 AM

    Happy birthday! I hope you enjoy it and have many more great ones to come!

  4. January 27, 2011 8:05 AM

    Enjoy your birthday, Kaylyn. 🙂

  5. Magnut permalink
    January 27, 2011 11:36 AM

    Congrats on you 25 years of breathing and running around. Make a it a great day knowing we the fans do care with joy.

  6. January 27, 2011 12:39 PM

    Happy birthday.

  7. ColdBlooder permalink
    January 27, 2011 6:25 PM

    Happy Birthday Marzgurl 🙂

  8. ChuckZ85 permalink
    January 27, 2011 6:41 PM

    Happy B-Day Marz! Hopefully your making the most of your special day and partying hard, because we all should on our B-Days.

  9. MNV permalink
    February 28, 2011 1:48 AM

    Nice, glad to see some love for a very underrated Final Fantasy. In particular I think the localization team did an excellent job with the script. Hands down, the most memorable quotes of any FF game come from IX.

    Also, happy waaaay belated birthday!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Birthday Memories: I Want to Be Your Canary « -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

