Skip to content

MarzGurl Loves Don Bluth – The Secret of NIMH

August 1, 2011

[blip.tv ?posts_id=5432560&dest=57459]

MarzGurl discusses the first in Don Bluth’s full length animated features.
5 Comments leave one →
  1. AnimeAdam permalink
    August 1, 2011 6:21 PM

    What if it’s traditional animation done with a digital process aka digital animation as it’s know to be called. Personally I HATE digital if you look really closely at the colouring process you’ll notice how whacked out the contrast it and how weirdly bright some colours are, not to mention the linework ohh the linework.

  2. DBourdages permalink
    August 2, 2011 9:55 AM

    This is the best Bluth Movie. Besides Dragon’s Lair 2: Time Warp, of course.

  3. August 2, 2011 3:09 PM

    I adored “The Secret of NIMH”, I’ve always considered it to be Don Bluth’s magnum opus. When I was little kid, I think it was a bit too intense to handle but as I grew older and wiser, I realized the greatness in it. 🙂
    As the Nostalgia Critic said, the film combines the elements of science, nature and the unknown. I think Mrs. Brisby’s character was handled well, not an over-the-top heroine or anything like that, she’s a frightened mother who is trying to be brave to help her son survive. I once said, it’s surprisingly violent and intense for a G rating. Thanks for the review, Marzie. 😉

  4. August 2, 2011 8:06 PM

    This mean we will see some video about “An American Tail” and “All dogs go to heaven”?

  5. August 7, 2011 10:22 PM

    Hey, marzgurl..
    I’d thought I’d point out the problems Don Bluth has with the film. First of all, it was set up that the tractor is a threat to Timmy’s life; however, we never see it again!. Don said that if he could go back, he would add some inserts of the plow being repaired little by little by the farmer. Just so the audience can feel a sence of foreboding.

    Also, not only only did Don have a problem with the backgrounds in the plow sequence, but so did all the animators. That’s primarily because the beautiful backgrounds were upstaging the animation! It was all done by an artist named Ron Diaz. You should go to his Website. Very nice guy, I talked to him. http://www.rondias.com/

    But here’s some food for thought. Screenwriter, Robert Towne saw Nihm and told Don that he probably should have made one of the children the protagonist instead of the mother, just so younger audiences can relate to the film better. Makes you think, doesn’t it?
    All these things Don will tell you on his live seminar every Wednesday on his live seminar. You should check it out, I’ve been on it for about 2 years now, and if you upload a drawing, he will go over it for you and tell you how to fix it.

    Oh, BTW. I was one of the dealers at San Japan. I was in the same hallway as the game room. I talked to that 8bit mickey for a bit, but I didn’t see you there. Did you like the con? I liked Akon better. Its a little bigger, plus I did much better business there, too. Oh, and while I was talking to Mickey, he uh…started to massage my shoulders!!!???
    -Joel
    http://www.facebook.com/joelnatal

Leave a Reply

